13/12/2010 12:13 am  #1

Question about White Christmas

I'm a newbie, I just found this site.  My Dad died a few years back now (1995) and I’ve had a lot of his LP’s (& just a few Cd’s) stored in a cupboard.  My wife thought it might be an idea to get the Christmas LP’s out the other day and I’ve been copying into digital.  I remember my Dad use to say Bing Crosby was the best but my brothers and I were into much younger things.  Now I realise the Bing has stood the test of time.  One thing puzzles me about my Dad’s collection.   He’s made lots of notes on them and for every time on the song White Christmas he has made a note 1947 and crossed out 1942 which is printed on several.

I know from the sleeve note on an LP that the song comes from the film Holiday Inn in 1942 and again in White Christmas in 1954 and we had to see these when they came on TV at Christmas,  but no reference to 1947. I’ve found a CD on Amazon which seems to have several White Christmasses on it.  What is the one that is always played on radio and in shops? it sounds like the one I have got several times over, Was my Dad right or wrong with his editing of LP sleeve notes?

John M

13/12/2010 12:23 am  #2

Re: Question about White Christmas

Very interesting topic. I think your Dad crossed out 1942, because Bing did first record the song in 1942. However, it was waxed on war era material and Decca's copy got worn out. So Bing recorded it again in 1947, and that is the version you hear on the radio now usually. A few Crosby Christmas LPs, say it was the version from 1942 when HOLIDAY INN came out, when it is in fact the 1947 version. I hope that helps a bit.

13/12/2010 10:12 am  #3

John M

Welcome to the Crosby Fan World Board.  It’s always great to see new names amongst us and have new stirrings of interest expressed.

I see you mention specifically Bing's Christmas songs - I do hope you give a hearing to your father's other records too. Bing was not just for Christmas!